Saint-Étienne-du-Mont: The Last Rood Screen in Paris

One of the most remarkable churches to visit in Paris is Saint-Étienne-du-Mont. Ideally, everyone with an interest in sacred liturgy should visit this absolutely stunning liturgical space. Inside is an actual rood screen, designed beautifully in a most creative way. 

Visitors who enter are greeted by a feast for the eyes from top to bottom. The first thing they pass are two giant shells that are holy water stoups, donated by Francis I (1494-1547), a prodigious patron of the arts who had this church decorated during the time of the emerging French Renaissance. An entire book could be written on the uniqueness of this masterpiece of architecture so full of visual delights that transport the viewer into heavenly regions. 

The Rood Screen

The interior is most unique, with great harmony among its blend of style. The photos here below illustrate the fascinating rood screen (the only remaining example in Paris) with its stunning spiral staircases and upper gangway between the pillars. The screen was built between 1521-1545, attributed to Antoine Beaucorps. 

The screen was intended to separate the nave from the choir. Like an arched bridge, its main arch is 9 m long. The tracery of the stone carvings and the spiral staircases (with their steps that are not perpendicular) are delicately supported by sturdy lender columns. In past centuries this area served as the pulpit to preach sermons. 

The gangway on each side and the youthful figures that top them (completed in 1605), are probably the work of Pierre Biard, one of the sculptors of the Galerie du Bord de l'Eau in the Louvere. 

Even though they were a common sight in the Middle-Ages, rood screens later disappeared after the Council of the Council of Trent (1545-1563), which in point of fact did not abolish them. The Tridentine goal was overall to make the majesty of such ceremonies at the altar more visible to the congregation beyond the choir and this led to their widespread disappearance. 

As a side note, important insights can be learned from reading the Council of Trent when it speaks of the value of visible sights and sounds and smells - for example, as articulated in Chapter V -- On the Solemn Ceremonies of the Sacrifice of the Mass:

"And whereas such is the nature of man that, without external helps, he cannot easily be raised to the meditation of divine things; therefore has holy Mother Church instituted certain rites, to wit, that certain things be pronounced in the Mass in a low (can. ix), and others in a louder tone. She has likewise employed ceremonies (can. vii), such as mystic benedictions, lights, incense, vestments, and many other things of this kind, derived from an apostolical discipline and tradition, whereby both the majesty of so great a sacrifice might be recommended, and the minds of the faithful be excited, by those visible signs of religion and piety, to the contemplation of those most sublime things which are hidden in this sacrifice." (Source: Dogmatic Canons and Decrees of the Council of Trent, p. 138).

Interior Highlights 

The nave thus has two levels of arcades -- successive arches at the ceiling and below, holding a passageway with balustrades, separating the nave from the outer aisles. This elevated area was used to drape banners on special feast days. The large windows above fill the interior with light. 

As is the custom in many medieval churches in France, there is the unusual feature of the axis of the church being slightly off, slanted to the side. This subtle curve of the spine of the church building is a sobering thought for meditation, representing the view of Christ from the Cross (with his head tilted at a slant, looking down the nave of the church from the main altar in the sanctuary). 

There is also an unusually stunning wood pulpit, built in 1650 by Germain Pilon, a cabinet maker. It shows a powerful Samson holding up the bowl of the covered structure, surrounded by virtues. The sculptures were designed by Laurent de la Hire, and made by Claude Lestocart. 

The choir loft must also be mentioned, with its organ and fine case dating from 1630, a work of Jean Buron, dominated by the resurrected Christ in the middle with two angels on the side (the organ case partially blocks the rose window). 

A Neighborhood Rich with Catholic History 

The church stands in the Latin Quarter, the same neighborhood that was familiar to St. Tomas Aquinas when he lived in Paris. It is perched on the Montagne Sainte-Geneviève, a hill overlooking the left bank of the Seine with the distant Notre-Dame Cathedral visible down below.  

This beautiful edifice is also famous for containing the relics of St. Genevieve, the patroness of Paris. In addition, Blaise Pascal is buried here. Pope John Paul II celebrated Mass in this church in 1997 for the youth of the world in conjunction with the World Youth Day in Paris. 

Directly across the street is the Panthéon, built by King Louis XV. It was originally intended to be dedicated to St. Genevieve, honoring the patroness of the city. Her relics were to be housed in the church. By the time construction was completed, the French Revolution had started and it was decided the church would be a mausoleum. 

Further, King Clovis (466-511) decided to be buried here along with his wife, St. Clotilde. Clovis was the first king to be baptized and he adopted the Catholic Faith for his kingdom. Several other kings were later buried at this location as was St. Genevieve. In 502, the Abbey of Sainte-Genevieve was founded here next to the church, which became part of the Abbey. 

Next to the old Abbey church the current church was built, completed and consecrated in 1626 by Jean-Francois de Gondi, the first Archbishop of Paris. Then as now, this beautiful church enjoyed great prestige. It had a rich liturgical life and was the starting point of an annual procession, carrying the relics of St. Genevieve to Notre-Dame Cathedral and back. 

The Anti-Catholic Persecution of the Revolution 

During the horrors of the French Revolution, the church was closed and transformed by the revolutionaries into what they called a "Temple of Filial Piety." The interior was trashed and looted, with extensive damage. In 1803 the Mass was restored here, under the Concordat of 1801. In 1804 the neighboring abbey church was demolished and replaced with a street, the Rue Clovis. Only the bell tower survived and is now part of the Henri IV school.

Thankfully, the church was restored under the reign of Napoleon III. The Paris city architect, Victor Baltard, worked on this project from 1865-1868. The facade was restored after the vandalism of the Revolution, its height was increased, and the statues and windows destroyed were all replaced. In addition, he added the Chapel of Catechisms, a worthy addition of matching architecture. 

Tomb of St. Genevieve 

Thousands of pilgrims gather here every year to pray before the tomb of St. Genevieve (c. 419-502). The tomb is positioned in a stunning side chapel, lavishly decorated in the playful "Flamboyant" style of Gothic architecture. 

Tragically, her original tomb and relics were destroyed during the French Revolution. The new reliquary tomb is made of chiseled and gilded copper and only contains a fragment of the original tomb. Overlooking the tomb is a lovely ornamental ciborium that matches well the style of the chapel. 

Genevieve was born in Nanterre. At the age of fifteen she consecrated and devoted herself to God. She spent the rest of her life in Paris, devoted to prayer and penance. 

Her aura of holiness drew others. She advocated for a basilica to be built atop the tomb of St. Denis, the first bishop of Paris. Whenever Paris was threatened or in danger, Parisians came to her. She became known as the "mother of the nation in peril." In 451, when Atilla the Hun threatened to attack the city, the inhabitants were on the verge of starvation, so Genevieve traveled up the Seine as far as Champagne, to locate provisions and help save the populace. 

Later in life, she became a friend of King Clovis and Queen Clotilde. Her relics are kept in the church here in a golden sarcophagus. She is the patroness of Paris and her feast is celebrated on January 3rd. 

An Invitation to Visit 

Below are several photos. We sincerely hope readers can visit here someday and experience the peace and joy of this holy place, offering prayers inside a mighty edifice, sacred to the memory of the Kingdom of Gaul. We pray that beauty, rather than banality, will once again become the norm. 




























-------

If you enjoy John Sonnen's content on LAJ,  why not 
make a donation to him? You can choose the amount and it goes directly to him.

Why not also consider subscribing monthly/yearly to Liturgical Arts Journal? Choose the amount for yourself. Your support of LAJ and its writers makes all the difference.

Join in the conversation on our Facebook page.

Share: